Week 6 Across College Sailing

#5 Charleston women win Navy Fall

#5 College of Charleston women won the Jen Harris Navy Fall Women's Regatta after 17 races sailed in each of the 3 divisions. The lone, three division women’s regatta featured a laser radial division (C-Division). A regatta hosted by the United States Naval Academy, in a choppy southerly, the Cougar Ladies showed their strength. The victory, despite a 4th place finish in A-Division and a 2nd place finish in the laser division, was largely attributed to the Cougar’s B-Division boat of Paris Henken, Annacel Carrington and Elizabeth Mignon. The all-junior-boat, after starting the event with a 10th place finish, strung nothing but top-10s throughout the remainder of the event, including 13 top-3 finishes. They won a competitive B-Division fleet decisively with 51 points in 17 races, 35 points ahead of the next closest boat.

Senior, Lindsey Baab won the C-Division in the laser radial. With 67 points after 17 races, the Brown Senior looks tough in preparation for her final college sailing laser campaign. Her C-Division victory helped the #9 Brown Bears finish 2nd overall  at the event.

Senior Casey Klingler with Claudia Loiacono ‘21 won A-Division handily. The Yale boat finished with 62 points, more than 30 points better than any other boat in the division. #1 Yale Bulldogs finished 3rd overall.

#8 HWS and #14 St. Mary’s show strength

Two Coed Interconference regattas headlined the weekend in MAISA and NEISA.

#14 St. Mary’s College won the Moody Trophy at URI narrowly over #2 Yale University. The Seahawks effort was led by an A-Division winning effort by Dane Byerly ‘20, Lydia McPherson-Shambarger ‘19 and Thomas Walker ‘21. The Seahawks young A-Division needed 33 points to win the division. St. Mary’s finished with 76 points in the 20 total races sailed. Malcolm Lamphere ‘18 of Yale, Sonia Lingos-Utley ‘21 and Kira Woods ‘19 won B-Division with 38 points. Yale finished 2nd with 77 points and #15 Harvard landed in 3rd with 90 points.

#8 Hobart and William Smith Colleges won the David Lee Arnoff Regatta held on Seneca Lake, home to Hobart and William Smith. Winning both divisions, the home team took the victory with ease. Hector Guzman ‘20 and Maya Weber ‘20 won A-Division with 43 points after 13 races and Charles Miller ‘19 and Lindsey Kloc ‘19 won B-Division with 29 points.

Merchant Marine Academy finished 2nd and #9 Navy finished third at the event.

The Pacific Coast and the Mid-Atlantic qualify for Singlehanded Nationals

Senior, Gary Prieto won the Carl Van Duyne - MAISA Singlehanded Championship after 14 races sailed. The Senior started extremely strong in not finishing outside the top-3 in the first 7 races sailed, opening up a 20+ point lead. Mr. Prieto finished with 65 points, 12 points ahead of Carrson Pearce ‘21 from Kings Point (77 points). Finishing 3rd overall was Clay Broussard ‘18 of Georgetown with 82 points. Capturing the 4th and final qualifying spot was Maximilian Guerriero ‘21 of Navy. Finishing one point ahead of Georgetown’s Jack Marshall, Guerriero finished with 86 points and one place behind Marshall to ensure the qualifying spot.

The PCCSC Men's Single-Handed Championship determines the 2 qualifying spots the Pacific Coast Conference is allocated for the 2017 men’s singlehanded championship. After 15 races sailed at University of California Santa Barbara, Stanford’s Luke Muller ‘18 won with 34 points and no races outside the top-5 in a 15 boat fleet. Finishing second was Lucas Pierce ‘21 of Santa Barbara with 40 points edging William Marshall of Stanford who finished with a Disqualification.

The PCCSC Women's Single-Handed Championship was also hosted by University of California Santa Barbara and, like the men’s championship, dictated who would fill the two qualifying spots the Pacific Coast Conference receives for the singlehanded nationals. Dominating the 11 boat fleet was Christina Sakellaris ‘21 of Stanford, who with 19 points, won all but 5 of the 14 races. Finishing second and capturing the second and final spot was Sophia Sole ‘21 of Stanford. This qualifying spot was much more contentious as Ms. Sole and Simone Staff ‘18 of Santa Barbara were never separated by more than 6 points throughout the 14 race event.

Congratulations to all laser sailors who qualified for the Men’s and Women’s Singlehanded Nationals, November 4th and 5th.