NEISA Watch Lists Spring 2018

CAMBRIDGE, MA—2/15/18 – The NEISA Awards Committee has announced the 2018 Coed and Women’s Sailor of the Year, Babineau Crew of the Year and Women’s Crew of the Year watch lists. These lists include the top sailors from New England colleges and universities based on results to date.

The NEISA Coed and Women’s Sailors of the Year annually honors the best skippers in the conference. Often NEISA Sailors of the Year are finalists and/or winners of the ICSA Sailor of the Year Awards. The Babineau Trophy, named for Coast Guard Academy sailor and Cadet Julie Babineau, recognizes the most outstanding crew. The Women’s Crew of the Year honors the best crew in women’s competitions.

Honorees are selected by the coaches of the NEISA Awards Committee. The committee considers the competitive record of each candidate. In determining the quantity and quality of a record, the committee has particular regard for the following factors: how the record compares to those of fellow competitors, the quality of competition in which the record was achieved, results achieved competing with different skippers and crews, whether the record spans the Fall and/or Spring seasons, and how the record compares to those of All-NEISA sailors selected in previous years. The committee does not consider the following factors: candidates’ records in previous years, or candidates’ records in non-college events. While these standout players are the initial contenders, all players are eligible for NEISA Awards.

Martim Anderson ‘18, Roger Williams University

Nicholas Baird ‘19, Yale University

Ty Ingram ‘18, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Trevor Long ‘19, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Nick Sertl ‘18, Harvard University

Charles Sinks ‘18, Boston College

Christopher Williford ‘19, Dartmouth College

Lindsey Baab ‘18, Brown University

Casey Klingler ‘18, Yale University

Isabella Loosbrock ‘19, Boston College

Louisa Nordstrom ‘20, Yale University

Sophia Reineke ‘21, Boston College

Dana Rohde ‘18, Coast Guard Academy


Jennifer Agell ‘19, Roger Williams University

Rebecca Anderson ‘18, Roger Williams University

Christine Gosioco ‘19, Harvard University

Rebecca McElvain ‘19, Dartmouth College

Graceann Nicolosi ‘20, Yale University

Sameena Shaffeeullah ‘19, Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Peninah Benjamin ‘20, Dartmouth College

Alice Bohan ‘18, Boston College

Sophia Diserio ‘18, Dartmouth College

Maddie Ekin ’20, Coast Guard Academy

Katharina (KB) Knapp ‘18, Yale University

Abigayle Konys ‘19, Brown University

Claudia Loiacono ‘21, Yale University

Lily McGrath ‘18, Boston College

Emma Perry ‘18, Boston College

The NEISA Awards Committee will announce the Women’s All-NEISA team at the conclusion of the NEISA Women’s Championship for the Jerry Reed Trophy hosted by Coast Guard Academy on April 21st. The Coed All-NEISA team will be named at the end of racing at the NEISA Dinghy Championship for the Coast Guard Alumni Bowl hosted by Brown University on April 28th.  

The New England Intercollegiate Sailing Association (NEISA) is the organizing authority for sailing competition at colleges and universities throughout New England and in some parts of Canada. NEISA is one of seven conferences around the country that comprise College Sailing, the governing body of Intercollegiate Sailing. Currently boasting over fifty member schools, NEISA seeks to encourage and advance sailboat racing, in all its variations through weekly competitions throughout the spring and the fall. Education, training, student leadership, and sportsmanship have been the cornerstones of NEISA since its inception in Cambridge, MA in 1949. Visit to learn more.


Past Coed Sailors of the Year

2008 Kyle Kovacs ‘08, Harvard University

2009 Brian Kamilar ‘09, Boston College

2010 Thomas Barrows ‘10, Yale University

2011 Cy Thompson ‘11, Roger Williams University

2012 Joe Morris '12, Yale University

2013 Alec Anderson ‘13, Roger Williams University

2014 Graham Landy ‘15, Yale University 

2015 Graham Landy ‘15, Yale University

2016 Ian Barrows ‘17 Yale University

2017 Ian Barrows ‘17 Yale University


Past Women’s Sailors of the Year

2008 Kaity Storck ‘08, Tufts University

2009 Jane Macky ‘09, Yale University

2010 Annie Haeger '12, Boston College

2011 Annie Haeger ‘12, Boston College

2012 Amy Hawkins ‘12, University of Rhode Island

2013 Deirdre Lambert ‘15, Dartmouth

2014 Morgan Kiss ‘15, Yale University

2015 Erika Reineke ‘16, Boston College

2016 Nikole Barnes ‘17, Coast Guard Academy

2017 Erika Reineke ‘17, Boston College


Former Babineau Crews of the Year

2008 Andrew Schneider ‘09, Boston College

2009 Andrew Schneider ‘09, Boston College

2010 Coco Solsvig ‘10, University of Vermont

2011 Emily Massa ‘12, Boston College

2012 Heather May '12, Yale University

2013 Pat Hession ‘13, Boston College

2014 Katherine Gaumond ‘15 Yale University

2015 Elizabeth Barnard ‘15, Boston College

2016 Sydney Karnovsky ‘16, Harvard University

2017 Clara Robertson ‘17, Yale University